Why do I need Vegan Vitamin D3?

yoga sunshine

Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is the bioactive form of the essential nutrient Vitamin D.  For years it was only available as a derivative from sheep’s wool lanolin.  Since 2011 the Food Movement has been offering this essential nutrient in a plant-based form, making Vegan Vitamin D3 a reality!

While your body does make its own D3 in response to exposure to natural sunlight, this amount is negated by sunscreen, busy lifestyles and less than optimal metabolism.  Scientific studies have uncovered a much greater need for supplementation with Vitamin D3 than realized before.

Omega Research, a third party resource, published scientific studies on the benefits of D3. They group, this research into categories of benefit : Bone Health/Falls/Fractures, Cancer, General, Immune Health, Deficiency/Insufficiency,  and Lung Health / Bronchial.

 

Vegan Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) : Myths and Misconceptions

Hey folks, I don’t know where you live, but here in the Midwestern US of A it is about to get a lot less sunny. And you know what that means? Yes, it is once again Vitamin D season.

lichen rock

Now, if you’ve read my blog posts over time you’ve seen me blog about Vegan D3 over the past couple of years.  Back then, an innovative company in the U.K. came out with a lichen-extracted (and therefore animal-free and vegan) form of Vitamin D3 cholecalciferol.  The Food Movement was the first company in North America to bring this unique cruelty-free form of Vitamin D3 into the health food marketplace. Yet still many myths and misconceptions exist so we are going through them one by one today.Vegan-Vitamin-D3_1024x1024

Next time you see a product made with D3 from sheep’s wool lanolin which claims to be 99% vegan (I’m not making this stuff up, folks) please write and tell the nice people how ill-informed they are.  Nothing personal; but misinformation is the enemy. Call them out, give them my e-mail and we will set the record straight.

MYTH #1 – ALL VITAMIN D3 (CHOLECALCIFEROL) COMES FROM ANIMALS

In terms of dietary supplements this was true up until a couple of years ago.  But research by legendary mycologist Paul Stamets indicates that organic mushrooms also contain active D3, not just D2.  So, there are true ‘food’ sources of D3 out there.  However, if you are facing Vitamin D deficiency (which many more people are than realize) you need a therapeutic dose of at least 1000 IU, perhaps 5000.  So you need a dietary supplement.  Many folks have seen dramatic results using the plant-based Vitashine (TM) form.

MYTH #2 – IT DOESN’T MATTER WHICH FORM, AS LONG AS YOU GET VITAMIN D

Evidence, meaning credible scientific research, suggests that not only does the body prefer D3 (cholecalciferol) to D2 (ergocalciferol), but supplementing with D2 may actually INHIBIT the body’s production of D3.  Think on that one for a moment, manufacturers of products!

While many vegan products contain D2 (ergocalciferol), which is not an animal product, they may not be a viable source of absorbable Vitamin D.

The research on Vitamin D3 is truly staggering. Check out some of the studies on deficiency alone!

MYTH #3 – EXPOSURE TO SUNLIGHT GUARANTEES YOUR BODY WILL MAKE ENOUGH VITAMIN D

You know one thing that blocks vitamin D production? Sunscreen.  Now, I’m not telling you whether or not to wear sunscreen  – but I can also tell you anecdotally that I have talked to many folks who live in sunny areas, get out a fair amount, and have gone to the doctor ( a key factor here) and found their vitamin D levels were low.

You can get a great deal on Vegan D3 capsules here 

Vegan vitamin D-3 really does exist!

VEGAN D3 LINK

The internet is an interesting place.  Nowadays we can point and click quicker than ever (anyone remember dial up?) to find the answer to our latest trivia question, settle intellectual debates or just find out where we are.

However, some things don’t change THAT fast.  Take for example the new Vegan Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) recently launched by the Food Movement.  The U.S. manufacturer of Vegan D3 (made with a source material, Vitashine, made from Lichen and produced in the U.K.) is presently available, and represents the first truly verified plant-based vitamin D3 available.

Just do a Google search for vegan and vegetarian newsgroups and you can find lots of (assumedly, well-meaning) people asserting “there is NO SUCH THING as Vegan D-3”. (In their defense, up until recently there was not). Still, the amount of misinformation being spread on news groups includes ‘facts’ like these. “Even if the D3 was vegan, the capsule would not be.” Umm, vegetarian capsules were invented about 20 years ago? Are people really unaware of this?

The truth is out there, The Food Movement Vegan D-3 was recently reported in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. (I’ve lived there and, trust me, if any place in the U.S. needs good Vitamin D it is Seattle!)

Up until recently, the only form of commercially available animal-free vitamin D was D-2 (ergocalciferol) which is derived from yeast, yet has been shown in scientific studies to be poorly absorbed.  The active form D-3 (cholecalciferol) was only available from sheep’s wool lanolin or fish. (I have also seen people online mistakenly reporting that cholecalciferol is “made from sheep’s intestines”.  I have seen zero evidence to support this, and I think it is based on a distortion of the facts about the lanolin version.)  There is also much debate about the mushroom-based form of D-3 which is sold by only one manufacturer and offers no independent verification of their product.

So, vegans and vegetarians, spread the word.  Vegan D3 is here.  Check your local health food store (they still need your support) or if necessary check Amazon.

For information on Vegan D3 directly from The Food Movement, click here