Vegan vitamin D-3 really does exist!

VEGAN D3 LINK

The internet is an interesting place.  Nowadays we can point and click quicker than ever (anyone remember dial up?) to find the answer to our latest trivia question, settle intellectual debates or just find out where we are.

However, some things don’t change THAT fast.  Take for example the new Vegan Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) recently launched by the Food Movement.  The U.S. manufacturer of Vegan D3 (made with a source material, Vitashine, made from Lichen and produced in the U.K.) is presently available, and represents the first truly verified plant-based vitamin D3 available.

Just do a Google search for vegan and vegetarian newsgroups and you can find lots of (assumedly, well-meaning) people asserting “there is NO SUCH THING as Vegan D-3”. (In their defense, up until recently there was not). Still, the amount of misinformation being spread on news groups includes ‘facts’ like these. “Even if the D3 was vegan, the capsule would not be.” Umm, vegetarian capsules were invented about 20 years ago? Are people really unaware of this?

The truth is out there, The Food Movement Vegan D-3 was recently reported in the Seattle Post-Intelligencer. (I’ve lived there and, trust me, if any place in the U.S. needs good Vitamin D it is Seattle!)

Up until recently, the only form of commercially available animal-free vitamin D was D-2 (ergocalciferol) which is derived from yeast, yet has been shown in scientific studies to be poorly absorbed.  The active form D-3 (cholecalciferol) was only available from sheep’s wool lanolin or fish. (I have also seen people online mistakenly reporting that cholecalciferol is “made from sheep’s intestines”.  I have seen zero evidence to support this, and I think it is based on a distortion of the facts about the lanolin version.)  There is also much debate about the mushroom-based form of D-3 which is sold by only one manufacturer and offers no independent verification of their product.

So, vegans and vegetarians, spread the word.  Vegan D3 is here.  Check your local health food store (they still need your support) or if necessary check Amazon.

For information on Vegan D3 directly from The Food Movement, click here

The Food Movement to Release Plant-Based Vitamin D-3 to US Health Food Stores

Vitamin D is an essential nutrient which has become more and more popular in recent years as a nutritional supplement.  However, those following a pure vegetarian (vegan) diet have been left out in the cold because all of the vitamin D-3 (cholecalciferol) on the U.S. market is derived from animal sources (either fish oil or sheep’s wool lanolin.)  Those looking for a non-animal-derived vitamin D have been forced to accept vitamin D-2, which has been shown to be much less bioavailable to the human body.

The Food Movement Co., based in the Chicago, IL area, has announced that they will soon release one of the first completely vegan vitamin D-3 products.  Plans to produce a 5,000 i.u. 60 softgel capsule and 1,000 i.u. 120 spray bottle are currently under way.

The vitamin D-3 is derived sustainably from a unique Lichen species found high in the mountains of Asia.  This product is very unique, and represents a hallmark for those following a pure vegetarian diet and seeking greater health. For more information on the various health benefits of vitamin D-3 check here.

The Food Movement has a mission to bring human beings greater health through nutrient-dense plant foods.  Additionally, their agenda is to alleviate hunger and to encourage environmental sustainability and greater biodiversity.